Footbridge at Upper Slaughter, Cotswolds, England.

The Cotswolds is an area in south central England and one of the most unspoilt regions of the country, being officially designated in 1966 as an area of outstanding natural beauty. The rolling hills of Cotswolds rise from the meadows of the upper Thames to an escarpment known as the Cotswolds Edge, just above the Severn Valley and Evesham Vale. The typical Cotswolds towns are Burford, Chipping Norton, Cirencester, Moreton-in-Marsh and Stow-on-The-Wold.

The name ‘Cotswolds’ is attributed to the meaning “sheep enclosure in rolling hillsides,” incorporating the term “wold” which means “hills.”

Photo by Joe Daniel Price.


Leave Your Comment Here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.